What do you mean by agro ecological zone?

Agro-ecological zones (AEZs) are geographical areas exhibiting similar climatic conditions that determine their ability to support rainfed agriculture.

What is the meaning of ecological zone?

An ecological zone is a landscape unit that unites certain interrelated animal and plant communities (biocenosis) with a particular social formation and environmental conditions as part of an integrated system.

What is agro economical zone?

An agro-ecological zone is the land unit carved out of agro-climatic zone superimposed on landform which acts as modifier to climate and length of growing period.

How many agro-ecological zones are in India?

India has a variety of landscapes and climate conditions and this is reflected in the development of different soils and types of vegetation. Based on 50 years of climate data and an up-to-date soil database, the country has been divided into 20 agro-ecological zones (AEZs).

Why agro-ecological zone is important?

Soils form the second element in defining and differentiating agroecological zones as soil conditions determine important properties for plant growth, moisture supply, root aeration and nutrient supply. … The third factor is land level in relation to flooding.

What are agro-ecological factors?

An Agro-ecological Zone is a land resource mapping unit, defined in terms of climate, landform and soils, and/or land cover, and having a specific range of potentials and constraints for land use. An Agro-ecological Cell (AEC) is defined by a unique combination of landform, soil and climatic characterist.

IMPORTANT:  You asked: Are Coke caps recyclable?

How many agro-ecological zones are there in UP?

The State of Uttar Pradesh falls under three agro-climatic zones viz. Agro Climatic Zone–IV: Middle Gangetic Plains region Agro Climatic Zone–V: Upper Gangetic Plains region and Agro Climatic Zone–VIII: Central Plateau and Hills region.

What are the agro climatic zones of India?

The agro-climatic zones in India are given below:

  • Western Himalayan Region.
  • Eastern Himalayan Region.
  • Lower Gangetic Plain Region.
  • Middle Gangetic Plain Region.
  • Upper Gangetic Plains Region.
  • Trans-Ganga Plains Region.
  • Eastern Plateau and Hills.
  • Central Plateau and Hills.

How many agro climatic zones are there in India according to ICAR?

As a first step, the country is divided into 15 Regions delineated on the basis of agroclimatic factors such as soil type, rainfall, temperature, and water resources.

How many agro climatic zones are in India?

The Planning Commission has categorised 15 agro-climatic zones in India, taking into account the physical attributes and socio-economic conditions prevailing in the regions.