In which agro climatic zone of India the soils are mostly alluvial and are prone to floods?

The Lower Gangetic Plains region: This region holds about 8% of the total basin area and completely contained in the 15 districts of West Bengal. The soils are mostly alluvial and are prone to floods. … The soil has high clay content with low drainability with large runoff and soil erosion.

What are the agro-climatic zones of India?

Delineation Of Agro-Climatic Regions

  • Western Himalayan Region.
  • Eastern Himalayan Region.
  • Lower Gangetic Plains Region.
  • Middle Gangetic Plains Region.
  • Upper Gangetic Plains Region.
  • Trans – Gangetic Plains Region.
  • Eastern plateau and Hills Region.
  • Central Plateau and Hills.

Which agro-climatic zones has highest cropping intensity?

Trans-Gangetic Plains Region: Punjab, Haryana, Delhi and Rajasthan. These regions have the highest sown areas, highest irrigated area, high cropping intensity and high ground water utilization.

IMPORTANT:  Which are the following is a threat to ecological balance?

Which is the largest agro-climatic zone of India?

The Agro-climatic zone- V is among the larger and very thickly populated agro-climatic zones. It covers 32 districts of Uttar Pradesh. A large part of the geographical area is cultivated and is well irrigated. This is the most developed region of the State of Uttar Pradesh.

Which states of India falls under middle Gangetic plains zones of India?

The Indo-Gangetic Plains (IGP) in India mainly comprises of five states viz., Punjab, Haryana, Uttar Pradesh, Bihar and West Bengal. As per the Planning Commission’s agro-climatic zones, the IGP in India is divided into four major sub regions (Fig 1.)

What are the agro climatic zones?

The 15 agro-climatic zones are:

  • Zone 1 – Western Himalayan Region: Jammu and Kashmir, Uttar Pradesh.
  • Zone 2 – Eastern Himalayan Region: Assam, Sikkim, West Bengal and all North-Eastern states.
  • Zone 3 – Lower Gangetic Plains Region: West Bengal.
  • Zone 4 – Middle Gangetic Plains Region: Uttar Pradesh, Bihar.

How many agro climatic zones are there in India according to ICAR?

As a first step, the country is divided into 15 Regions delineated on the basis of agroclimatic factors such as soil type, rainfall, temperature, and water resources.

How many agro climatic zones are there in Chhattisgarh?

About Us

Agro Climatic Zone Districts Included Total Geo. Area
C.G. Plains (15 Distt.) Raipur, Gariyaband, Balodabazar, Mahasamund, Dhamtari, Durg, Balod, Bemetara, Rajnandgaon, Kabirdham, Bilaspur, Mungeli, Korba, Janjgeer, Raigarh & a part of Kanker Districts (Narharpur & Kanker Block) 68.49 lakh ha. (50%)

How many climatic zones are in India?

In India, (Bansal & Minke, 1988) had carried out detailed studies and reported that India can be divided into six climatic zones, namely, hot and dry, warm and humid, moderate, cold and cloudy, cold and sunny, and composite. The criteria of classification are described in Table 1.

IMPORTANT:  Your question: What can I put in paper recycling bin?

How many agro climatic zones are there in West Bengal?

Based on soil characterization, rainfall, temperature and terrain, six main agro-climatic zones in West Bengal have been identified (Fig. 1). These are: (i) Hill Zone, (ü) Terai Zone, (iii) Old Alluvial Zone, (iv) New Alluvial Zone, (v) Red and Laterite Zone & (vi) Coastal and Saline Zone.

How is agro-climatic zone determined?

Bounding areas that have similar weather patterns allows the identification of appropriate regions for crop growing, known as agro-climatic zones (ACZs). … In agriculture and forestry, air temperature and rainfall are the main factors that define crop zoning, sowing dates, and expected yield levels (Alvares et al. 2013).

How many agro-climatic zones are there in India as far as the official Categorisation of the Ministry of agriculture is concerned?

Correct Option: B. India has been divided into fifteen different agroclimatic zones by the Planning Commission of India, which are further divided into more homogeneous 72 sub-zones.

How many agro climatic zones are there in Uttar Pradesh?

The State of Uttar Pradesh falls under three agro-climatic zones which are: Agro Climatic Zone–IV: Middle Gangetic Plains region. Agro Climatic Zone–V: Upper Gangetic Plains region. Agro Climatic Zone–VIII: Central Plateau and Hills region.

What is the present status of soil in Uttar Pradesh?

Soils. Much of the area of Uttar Pradesh is covered by a deep layer of alluvium spread by the slow-moving rivers of the Ganges system. Those extremely fertile alluvial soils range from sandy to clayey loam. The soils in the southern part of the state are generally mixed red and black or red-to-yellow.

IMPORTANT:  How does ecosystem maintain ecological balance?

How many agro climatic zones are there in Madhya Pradesh?

Madhya Pradesh is divided into eleven agro-climatic zones and shown in the Fig. 1. The zones have special cropping patterns, soil types and varying degrees of rainfall as shown in table 1.