What is Schedule 1 of Wildlife Protection Act?

It covers endangered species that need rigorous protection. The species are granted protection from poaching, killing, trading etc. A person is liable to the harshest penalties for violation of the law under this Schedule.

What is Schedule 2 of Wildlife Protection Act?

The Wild Life (Protection) Act, 1972 is an Act of the Parliament of India enacted for protection of plants and animal species. Before 1972, India had only five designated national parks. … Schedule I and part II of Schedule II provide absolute protection – offences under these are prescribed the highest penalties.

Are monitor lizards Schedule 1?

The monitor lizard (Varanus bengalensis) is a protected species under Schedule I of the Wildlife Protection Act, 1972.

Which one of the following is a schedule 1 animal of the Wildlife Protection Act, 1972?

1. Binturong (Arctictis binturong).

What wildlife is protected under Wildlife Protection Act?

The Wildlife Protection Act protects all kinds of animals from amphibians to birds, mammals, and reptiles under Section 2(1). The definition is exhaustive and can accommodate a variety of animals within the scope of protection.

IMPORTANT:  Is NADH recycled in cellular respiration?

What are Schedule 1 animals?

Schedule I:

  • The Black Buck.
  • Bengal Tiger.
  • Clouded Leopard.
  • Snow Leopard.
  • Swamp Deer.
  • Himalayan Bear.
  • Asiatic Cheetah.
  • Kashmiri Stag.

What is a Schedule 1 species?

Schedule 1 – Part I. Birds and their young, for which it is an offence to intentionally or recklessly disturb at, on or near an ‘active’ nest: Avocet. Bee-eater.

Under which schedule Russell’s viper included?

Venomous snakes such as King Cobra, Monocled Cobra, Spectacled Cobra and Russell’s Viper are protected by law under Schedule II of the Wildlife Protection Act, 1972.

Is monitor lizard extinct?

Due to illegal poaching monitor lizards have declined in population through out India. Monitor Lizards are an endangered species today and is listed in Schedule I of Indian Wildlife Act.

Are monitor lizards protected?

Of the 31 species in the world, four are from India: the Bengal monitor, the two-banded monitor, the desert monitor, and the yellow monitor lizard. All of the four are severely endangered species and are protected under Schedule I of the Wildlife Protection Act.

What is the Wildlife Protection Act?

Native animals are protected by the Biodiversity Conservation Act 2016. All native birds, reptiles, amphibians and mammals (except the dingo) are protected in New South Wales by the Biodiversity Conservation Act 2016 (BC Act). Some fish species are also protected under NSW legislation. …

In which schedule the list of endangered wild animals is given?

​Schedule I

This Schedule covers animals that come under the endangered species.

When was Wildlife Protection Act amended?

Environmentalists are stumped by the sudden appearance of proposed amendments to the Wildlife (Protection) Act, 1972. They said neither was this in the public domain nor was enough time given for anyone to file objections to them.

IMPORTANT:  Best answer: What are the advantages of environmental conservation?

Can Schedule 6 plants be cultivated?

The specified endemic plants in Schedule VI are prohibited from cultivation and planting.

What is stated in section 50 of the wildlife Act 1972?

Section 50 (1) of the Wild Life Protection Act, 1972, empowers any forest officer or any police officer not below the rank of sub – inspector to enter, search, arrest and detention of a person involved in an offence against the Act.

How many chapters are there in wildlife Protection Act?

The Act consists of 60 Sections and VI Schedules- divided into Eight Chapters. The Wildlife Protection Act, 1972 empowers the central and state governments to declare any area a wildlife sanctuary, national park or closed area.